Currently I’m Loving…

Currently I'm Loving

CurrentlyImLoving5

 

The Shib Sibs YouTube Channel

 

As a former figure skater, the ShibSibs YouTube channel makes me smile. Maia and Alex Shibutani are world bronze medalists and 2014 Olympians in ice dance. They put up short vlogs giving us viewers a behind-the-scenes look at the lives of competitive ice dancers and cute little music videos and skits. I had the pleasure of meeting them (along with Olympic champions Meryl Davis & Charlie White) when I attended a competition back in 2010. They ( meaning all 4 of them) are the sweetest people ever.

Maia and Alex conceptualize, shoot and edit all of their videos, and I’m continually impressed by these two. I mean, balancing an ice dancing career with college is hard enough. But these two do that AND manage to interact with their fans on YouTube by giving them a unique perspective on something that so few us rarely get to see, let alone experience.

 

You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero

 

Since I started this whole self-help/transformation journey, I’ve done plenty of reading. And I’m going to be honest. I didn’t buy much into the books I got my hands on because so much seemed very woo-woo to me. Because I don’t believe that everything happens for a reason.

I had a friend recommend this book to me, and I bought the audiobook on iTunes. Enter the best self-help book I have ever invested in. The author wrote in a language that just made sense to me. She tells it like it is. No woo-woo needed. She explained a bunch of what I would have previously considered woo-woo concepts in a way that I just got. The audiobook is currently hanging out in my phone, and I listen to it all the time.

 

Doing A Brain Dump

 

In addition to writing gratitude statements every morning, I have been doing brain dumps both in the morning and at night. It’s a great way for me to start and end the day with a clear head without taking anything into the following day. It’s also a great way to generate ideas for blog posts. As I get into the rhythm of doing this more consistently, I hope that this will prove helpful.

 

Yoga

 

Doing things consistently when it comes to my physical health (especially given all the personal health issues I’ve been experiencing lately) is difficult for me. It takes me a while to get into a routine, and it’s so easy for a lot of us to overlook things when we’re crazy overwhelmed.

I have been getting back into yoga and Pilates lately. I tried some yoga classes at my local gym, but wasn’t really feeling them. So I turned to YouTube and found SO MANY great options. I’m looking forward to getting back on my mat consistently and making this practice a part of my daily routine.

What have YOU been loving! Can’t wait to see in the comments!

Image Credit: Gratisography

Leave a Reply

